Published on:

Rules Related To Illinois’ Auto Insurance

Have you or a loved one been involved in a car accident? If so, you may wonder how auto insurance comes into play. In brief, Illinois is defined as a fault car insurance state. What this means is that the person who is found to be at fault for causing the car accident has to compensate people who were injured, or property damage, arising out of the car accident. Normally, in Illinois, the car insurance carrier of the at-fault driver will pay for these costs. There are various car insurance requirements in Illinois.  

Illinois’ Car Insurance Requirements

If you live in Illinois and have a registered motor vehicle in Illinois, the following laws/requirements apply to you. First of all, you, as a driver, must carry at least $20,000 in insurance coverage to cover for injury or death of a person involved in an auto accident (this includes yourself as well as others.)

Second, you, as a driver, must carry at least $40,000 in insurance coverage to cover for injury or death of more than one person involved in an auto accident. Third, you, as a driver, must carry $15,000 in insurance coverage for property damage incurred in an auto accident.

Please note that these required amounts are the bare minimums. It is highly recommended that you purchase additional coverage. Why is this? Well, if you are found to be the at-fault driver in a car accident, and if the amount of damages exceeds your amount of coverage, you will most likely be held personally liable for the excess amount.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

In Illinois, your car insurance policy must have uninsured motorist coverage (UIM). In short, your UIM coverage helps you when you are in an accident with an uninsured motorist. In other words, if the at fault driver does not have car insurance, instead of seeking compensation from his or her insurance carrier, you will seek compensation from your UIM coverage. It works similar to a backup plan or a safety net for coverage.

Illinois law requires that your UIM coverage have limits equal to your Bodily Injury Liability Coverage. Nevertheless, you may select a lower limit. If you do select a lower limit, this selection must be expressed in writing. In addition, per Illinois law, the lowest UIM coverage allowed is $20,000 per person or $40,000 per accident.  

When you seek compensation from your UIM coverage, the coverage includes injuries you incurred, injuries your relative (who lives with you) incurred, injuries of anyone driving your vehicle with your permission, or injuries of anyone riding in a vehicle with you.

Take Action and hire an Attorney

If you or your loved one are the victim of an auto accident at the fault of another driver, it is imperative that you contact an experienced personal injury attorney. Such an attorney will not only provide you with an ease of mind, but will help establish your case and will ensure that your case is timely filed pursuant to Illinois’ statute of limitations.

Luckily, the Illinois personal injury lawyers at Levin & Perconti are here for you. Our lawyers have the experience needed to aggressively take on your case. Call us today at (312) 332-2872 or toll free (877) 374-1417 to schedule a FREE consultation.

RELATED POSTS:

Injured Driver Wins Car Accident Settlement against Insurance Company

Chicago Accident Lawyers on Car Insurance