Published on:

Uninsured Drivers in Illinois

There has not been a substantial increase in the number of vehicle owners that have been driving without liability insurance in Illinois. A larger increase was expected as a result of the recession, but even with the numbers as they are there is still a big concern with uninsured drivers. There are over half a million uninsured drivers in Illinois and if caught driving without insurance drivers face a mandatory three month suspension of their driver’s licenses and then a $100 reinstatement fee for the driver’s license, a $100 reinstatement fee for the license plate and a $500 fine paid to the courts, as well as showing proof of current insurance. Courts will sometimes only place the driver under supervision if they purchase insurance after the offense. One way to try to cut down on this problem is by requiring vehicle owners to list their insurance company and policy number when renewing their vehicle registration. For more information on uninsured vehicle owners in Illinois, click here.