Mandatory Insurance Law in Illinois Poses Serious Punishments for Drivers that Fail to Comply

Illinois law requires that all drivers have car insurance when operating a motor vehicle. In order to be in compliance with this mandatory insurance law, the minimum coverage amounts are as follows: as least $20,000 for the injury or death of one person in a car accident, at least $40,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a car accident and at least $15,000 for damage to the property of another person in a car accident. Every driver must carry their insurance card in their vehicle and present it to any requesting law enforcement officer. Insurance companies will automatically send an insurance card to their insured and will send a new one when the previous one expires. The Vehicle Renewal Registration Application that all drivers must fill out when renewing their registration each year now has a signature requirement promising that they have current insurance to cover the registration period. Drivers that fail to keep their insurance current, or lack insurance completely, are subject to a $100 reinstatement fee as well as current proof of insurance on the first offense. If it is a repeat offense, the driver is subjected to a four-month suspension period of their license in addition to the punishments of a first time offender. For more information on the mandatory insurance requirements, click here. If you have been injured in a car accident involving an uninsured motorist, the Chicago car accident attorneys at Levin & Perconti may be able to help you seek justice. Call 312-332-2872 for a free consultation with an accident lawyer.

Lawyer Monthly - Legal Awards Winner
The National Trial Lawyers
Elder Care Matters Alliance
American Association for Justice
Fellow Litigation Counsel of America
Super Lawyers
Contact Information